The Baku International Architecture Award is an open, biennial award organised by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan with the support of the International Union of Architects (UIA).


On the recommendation of the International Union of Architects (UIA), this fourth edition of the Award will be held in conjunction with the UIA International Forum on Mass Tourism in Historic Cities.

The main objective of the award is to recognise projects (both proposed and realised) that exemplify excellent design practices and responsible planning as well as design and development for tourism in places of heritage and historical significance. This could include new facilities to accommodate tourists, sites of historical significance and the adaptive reuse of existing buildings for purposes related to tourism.


Entries are invited in the following categories:

A – best-implemented project in the architecture of tourist facilities

B – best project undertaken in the field of rehabilitation and reconstruction of historic buildings and sites

C – best-implemented restoration of historic interiors

D – best-implemented rehabilitation of a site in the field of landscape architecture

E – best non-realised project in the field of restoration and reconstruction of buildings

F – best publication in the field of the use of historical heritage for tourism purposes


Architects duly qualified for architectural practice in their country of residence may participate in the Award. Each participant can submit only one project for each category and participation is free of charge.


All questions concerning the Award procedure should be sent to [email protected].  Questions and their replies will be e-mailed by the UAA to all participants.


Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Azerbaijan


Union of Architects of Azerbaijan


The prize fund of 45,000 AZN will be awarded in the various categories as follows:

First prize of 4000 AZN

Second prize of 2500 AZN

Third prize of 1000 AZN


VassilisSgoutas, UIA Former President (Greece)

Esa Mohamed, UIA Immediate Past President (Malaysia)

Catherine Jacquot, Immediate Past President of the CNOA (France)

Victor Leonel, President of the Africa Union of Architects – AUA (Angola)

Elbay Gasim-Zada, Chairman of the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan